THE LIAR’S CHAIR by Rebecca Whitney

Dear bloggers and Rebecca Whitney please excuse me if I make a right hash of this review.

Mainly, I only publicly comment on a subject if I have something positive to say.  Although I value my opinion, I appreciate that’s what it is, mine, and I feel I have a responsibility to use it wisely.  I would feel uncomfortable about negatively influencing a potential reader; it would be presumptuous of me to think that everyone has the same taste as I.  If I didn’t appreciate ‘The Liar’s Chair’ then I would withhold my opinion; that in itself is a statement.

I very nearly gave up on this novel however I’m so glad I didn’t. It is the true definition of a slow burner.  Rachel is unlikable, uninteresting and substance dependent; she has no redeeming features because she is utterly weak. The flashbacks to her childhood make no effort to veil the sexual abuse that lies ahead or that her mother is selfish, needy, immature and vindicitve. Rebecca did evoke a feeling of sympathy from me for young Rachel but it was fleeting. I get that Rachel was riddled with self-worth issues and I don’t believe the saying ‘you live the life you deserve’ but she was intelligent, had access to funds, independently owned property (her childhood home) and had Will, who wanted to start anew with her? The more I read the more I disliked her, not in a J.R. Ewing or Lex Luther way, but in a you’re not worth reading about way.

Without saying anything further about the plot  from Part 3 the book was un-put-down-able and I envisaged it on the big screen.  I would pay to see this at the cinema (especially if Aiden Turner was cast as Will).

I am going to compare this book to Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates; a book with two characters that I failed to like or hate. ‘The Liar’s Chair’ is way, way better. With hindsight would I read it; yes, definitely.  Would I recommended it? Certainly, to a reader who commits to a book from page 1 to the last page.

I would be interested to know if the ‘Liar’s Chair’ manuscript was rejected by many literary agents or publishers because the first three chapters do not do this book justice.

Thank you Rebecca Whitney for a book worth reading.  Now I understand your style I look forward to your next novel.

Be Happy, T.

One thought on “THE LIAR’S CHAIR by Rebecca Whitney

Leave a Reply

